RSS

Of Decorative Knotting, Gift Giving and a bunch of Silly Geeks!

22 Nov

I came across the art of Decorative Knotting quite by accident. I was searching online for something completely different when I stumbled upon this art form.

So what is decorative knotting? It consists of creating different patterns of knots, loops and braids in a piece of string to create artistic masterpieces.

I liked this art form because:

1. It is relatively easy to do. Just requires a bit of patience.
2. Lots of resources online to help out a beginner.
3. Make for really good decoration pieces around the house (shameless show off that I am).
4. Great conversation starters πŸ™‚

I bought a few rolls of different coloured string (The story of how my Wife and I went about getting the right type of string is a saga of epic proportions deserving a face melting guitar solo and another blog post). For my first attempt I decided to make this:

De Ana Star

I found the video instructions here:

Anyways, making this piece was not all that difficult. The video was very clear and well made and I am a great copy cat :). The challenge was something else.

Now we come to my wicked, ulterior motives for making this piece of art. My wife Pallavi had encouraged me so much to start with this that I wanted to do something special for her. I wanted to make this piece as a gift for her. The piece I selected was perfect as a cute little key chain or maybe even a funky necklace.

The tough part was to do it without her coming to know. Hmm…

Enter the office commute to the rescue.

I spend about 2 hours everyday commuting to and from my office. So the time was perfect for some sneaky surprise gift making. Or so I thought….

Working on an art project in a bus full of Engineers comes with (warning: groan inducing pun follows) a lot of strings attached.

After getting a few weird comments and questions from my co-passengers like:

1. Dude, why are you playing with string?
2. Dude, seriously! are you knitting a sweater?
3. Dude, you are an Aerospace test engineer doing artsy fartsy stuff with string. You have violated the code of geekdom! You will have to display the wallpaper of shame on your desktop for one month!

Wallpaper of shame.

Anyways after an interminably long duration (45 mins) of juggling an android phone(containing the video), 1 m of (Orange coloured. Shut Up!) string and (un)wisecracks from my co-workers (mental note: next project Build a Flamethrower), The Star Key Chain was done!

It looked like this.

The Completed Piece

Not a bad start even if I say so meself!

The look on Pallavi’s face was priceless.

Epic Win!

All in all a great start to a superb art form.

Anybody out there tried something similar? Please send me your pics and I will share them here.

Some resources for beginners:

Fusion Knots

Fusion Knots Videos

De’Ana Star Sinnet Image Courtesy of Fusion Knots.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2012 in Art Attack!

 

6 responses to “Of Decorative Knotting, Gift Giving and a bunch of Silly Geeks!

  1. kismitoffeebar

    November 22, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    A.W.E.S.O.M.E !

    Looooooooooooooved both the patterns! My God!!!! You inspire me to try this πŸ™‚ I travel for like 3 hours everyday as well. Tee hee. I can so imagine how happy Pallavi must have been. Loved the fact that you guys went shopping for the string πŸ™‚

    2 things:

    – Winnie is NOT wallpaper of shame.

    – My birthday is on may 23. I love black. And as a bonus, I express the delirious happiness extremely well πŸ˜›

     
    • Yash the PolymathGeek

      November 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Glad you liked it! And Of course Winnie is wallpaper of shame :P. I am a Calvin and Hobbes fan and an Engineer πŸ™‚

       
      • kismitoffeebar

        November 22, 2012 at 8:35 pm

        hehe. Speaking of Calvin and Hobbes, K and I did find entire collection online and devoured it (free free free). I wanted to tell you this long back !

        Sadly, it is no longer available for free 😦

         
      • Yash the PolymathGeek

        November 22, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        No problems.. I am ok with getting my daily dose of CnH from the newspaper. But thanks for the thought!

         
  2. Asha

    November 23, 2012 at 7:38 am

    oh my my my… is this the same geek i first met 8 yrs ago ???????????????? sab pallavi ka effect hai… someone who used to run a mile away at the word marriage is now making a hand made gift for his wife!!!! πŸ™‚

     
    • Yash the PolymathGeek

      November 23, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      Hey Asha,
      Thanks for visiting. And let us not talk about the Geek-from-8-years ago please?? I have got a geeky rep to protect πŸ™‚

       

Please Leave a Reply.

 
The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Comments on: Home

Knowing Something About Everything & Knowing Everything About Some Of The Things

The Art of Manliness

Knowing Something About Everything & Knowing Everything About Some Of The Things

Kismitoffeebar

Yay!! Life !!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

